Muse. Ramble. Rant. Repeat



Hipsters made me celebrate Earth Hour

I’ve mentioned a few times that I’m trying to be on a health kick. It’s going so-so since I have a complete lack of will power and my work schedule would make child labourers cry. One thing that I do know about me is that I am an expert at finding ways to get out of things. So I signed up for a gym class and have been committed to going, no matter what. If I miss one class then I can easily miss another, and then another and then next you thing you know I’ve paid for a gym membership for two years and gone a total of ten times.

Not that … uh… that happened or anything….

Avoiding eye contact.

What this has meant is that I don’t drink on Saturday nights since I have a 10am class Sunday morning. Sure I will go out and have a nice dinner, perhaps catch a show, but generally I insist on not drinking and being home before 1am. This Saturday turned out to be an exception.  

Saturday night I had to celebrate Earth Hour.

Yes. I had to.

No, I’m not a hippy. No, I don’t believe that a symbolic gesture of turning off the lights for one hour makes a difference in the world. But yes, I do live in a neighbourhood of judgy hipsters who have us on their radar for being those gentrified yuppies with nice stuff.

It’s true. I’m a little afraid that if I don’t abide by hippy ideals more of my stuff will get destroyed and/or stolen.

At 8pm Saturday night I turned off all the lights, lit some candles, poured a glass of wine and settled down with a good book. At 8:30pm I looked outside and noticed my entire block had done the same (CJ was off in a nicer part of town watching the fights, he sent me a text message saying that the block he was on didn’t appear to have any lights switched off).

Of course, reading in the dark only gets you so far. So within two hours I had polished off a bottle of wine and gone to bed. This hadn’t been my intention but these things happen when left to my own devices. You are so jealous of my exciting life right now, aren’t you? Admit it…

At 8am my alarm went off. And then my bottle of wine hit me. And then it left me. But I was determined to go to my class. Hungover or not, if I miss even one class I risk skipping all of them, I’m that poorly motivated. I chugged vitamin water and stretched, I dressed in shorts and a tank so I wouldn’t get overheated (this may not seem like a big deal, but I left the house dressed like this, it’s literally freezing here).

And then I had what will now be dubbed “the hardest hour of my life”. I almost threw up (again) several times. I cursed myself for drinking. I cursed the liquor store for being so close to my house. I cursed the instructor who is just so.damn.peppy. at 10am on a Sunday morning. But mostly I blamed the hipsters for making me feel like I need to be hip so that more of my nice stuff won’t get stolen. At the end of the hour I was amazed I had survived and felt proud of myself.

I’ve also learned my lesson about drinking bottles of wine in the dark – not meant to be done alone.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * andhari says:

    “I do live in a neighbourhood of judgy hipsters who have us on their radar for being those gentrified yuppies with nice stuff.”

    HAHAHA Awesome.

    Sometimes I do stuff just to annoy the hell out of hipsters. Like putting popular Pitbull songs out loud.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

