Muse. Ramble. Rant. Repeat



Valentine’s Day: What to gift

Valentine’s Day. That’s Sunday right? Hmmm… I hate Hallmark Holidays… but I like having a theme to write about… therefore I declare this week Valentine’s Week! Don’t worry, I promise to trash the day but first up I’ll tell you how to give the perfect gift:

The most romantic gift CJ has ever given me (besides allowing me to pick out my engagement ring, which was the best day of my life – I love sparkly things and being in control) was a case of diet coke and a package of bobby pins.

The case of diet coke is easy enough (see previous post) but the bobby pins were the most thoughtful gift ever.

I was growing out my hair and I was constantly using and losing bobby pins. One day as we were headed to school and I opened up the apartment door and there was one right in front of our door. So I picked it up and popped it in my hair. This, CJ claims, was perhaps the grossest thing I have ever done in our entire relationship (he has other people hair issues). I’m 80% sure the bobby pin was mine but one can never be too sure in an apartment building. That Valentine’s Day (which was a few weeks away from the incident) I received a package of bobby pins which matched my hair colour. It was adorable. It made me laugh and let me know that he’s paying attention.

I once gave CJ chocolate milk and a pan of brownies with Cadbury Mini Eggs baked into them with my promise not to touch either one of them (he doesn’t like to share). Last year I gave him the entire boxed set of Looney Tunes, his favourite childhood cartoon (he’s subjected my nieces to hours of senseless cartoon violence, claims it will “man them up”). Just recently CJ gave me a cactus because while I love plants I kill things that don’t make sounds when they need to be fed. So far so good, cactus is still alive.

So, dear boyfriends and girlfriends when giving a gift this year I want you to think outside of the box. Everyone can give flowers, chocolates, body massage oil and head but what can you give that the other person will think quirky and always remember? What does your loved one ask for that they don’t have? For example, I’m really hoping I get a replacement grapefruit spoon.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * andhari says:

    I want a really nice digital camera for valentine days’s gift since I broke my old one.
    Too much?:P

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  2. * LiLu says:

    Oh, I freaking love this. It’s so true… I hate giving boring gifts! I always try to think of something special.

    That said, I am racking my brain for Sunday…

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Loree Patka says:

    There’s little better than romantic gifts for girls. There’s something about the clothes that brings out the soft femininity of a lady. Romantic gifts can change between conservative to flirty – all sorts are fun and both can make a lady feel sensual.There are numerous differing kinds of women’s lingerie and the styles range in numerous different fashions. Some lingerie is traditional, longer, and more classy. That style regularly draws more conservative girls or is commonly wedding night apparel. However , there are more sorts of lingerie that are more out-there, daring and fun. The styles come in several shapes, colors and even themes. Thanks to the more daring styles, some males and females are disinclined to buy the attire from a store and regularly choose to buy their lingerie on the web.;

    Most up-to-date posting on our homepage
    <http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/best-curling-wand/

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

